Assessment Overview

  • Florida’s K-12 assessment system measures students’ achievement of Florida’s education standards, which were developed and implemented to ensure that all students graduate from high school ready for success in college, career, and life. 
    Students in the following courses are subject to state assessment:

    • English Language Arts: 3rd - 8th grade, English I, and English II
    • Mathematics: 3rd - 8th grade, Algebra I, and Geometry
    • Science: 5th grade Science, 8th grade Science, Biology
    • Social Studies: Civics and US History 


    What are FSA Achievement Levels 1 through 5? What is an acceptable performance level? 
    All students in grades 3 through 10 are scored within five performance levels. The five levels are:

    High Level 5: Successful with the most challenging grade-level content
      Level 4: Mostly successful with challenging grade-level content
      Level 3: Partly successful with grade-level content – performance is on grade level
      Level 2: Limited success with grade-level content
    Low Level 1: Minimal success with grade-level content