Office of Student Assignment and Zoning

Magnet Program Information

  • The application window for all magnet programs for the 2020-2021 school year will open January 7, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. 

     Click here for information

School Choice/Controlled Open Enrollment - 2020-21 School Year applications open in Spring


    The timeline for School Choice/Controlled Open Enrollment has changed.  The application window will open by early April with decisions being available by May 15th. 

    Please check back on this website for updated information.

Request for Assignment Exception

Welcome to our schools!

  • Enrolling in School


    The Office of Student Assignment assigns school to property parcels based on geographic location within the county.  Each parcel is assigned to an elementary, middle and high school.  These are referred to as zoned schools.  Students residing on a given property must attend the school to which the property is assigned.

    Parents may apply to have their students attend schools other than their zoned schools.  This is managed through the school choice/controlled open enrollment process, offered each spring for the following school year. Any school choice applications received after the deadline are placed at the bottom of the waiting list and processed only as time permits. 

    Parents who miss the school choice window or experience unforeseen circumstances may apply for a zoning exception based on specific hardship criteria.  The form for applying can be downloaded by clicking on the link entitled Request for Assignment Exception.  Requests not based on hardship reasons are to be treated as a request for school choice/controlled open enrollment.  Zoning exceptions are granted for a single school year and must be renewed annually.  Exceptions can be revoked at any time for student disciplinary problems, excessive absences or tardiness.


    Find your zone


    New residents please contact the District's Zoning Office at (352) 955-7700 to verify school attendance zone information.

Contact Us

  • Department email address:  zoning (

    Fax:  (352) 955-7990 

    Comments (-1)
  • Kim Neal
    Director FTE / State Reporting and Office of Student Assignment
    e-mail:  nealkm
    Ph (352) 955-7712

    Comments (-1)
  • Martha Dean
    Supervisor, Office of Student Assignment
    e-mail:  deanme
    Ph (352) 955-7700

    Comments (-1)
  • Dawn Boyer
    Specialist II, Student Assignment
    e-mail:  boyerd
    Ph (352) 955-7700

    Comments (-1)